This is one of my favorite dishes – one that I crave and often treat myself to when I’m just cooking for one (though it works well for dinner parties, too). I came up with it many years ago when Super H Mart opened in Atlanta and fresh Thai basil was suddenly accessible! The recipe is flexible and forgiving; I doubt that I’ve ever made it exactly the same twice. In the version below, I experimented with adding freshly ground Indonesian green and white peppercorns from La Boite Spices.

Thai Basil Stirfry Served

Ingredients

3 cloves garlic, minced
1 carrot, thinly sliced
3 scallions, sliced
1 roma tomato, diced
3 mushrooms, chopped
1 cup peas, fresh or frozen
1 bunch glass noodles, cooked
1 cup diced firm tofu or meat substitute (here, I used Beyond Meat Lightly Seasoned Chicken)
5-6 sprigs fresh Thai basil, leaves stripped from stems
1 lime
1/2 c vegetable broth (I make my own bouillon using this recipe – definitely worth the effort!)
1 tsp chili paste
4 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp toasted sesame seed oil
2 tbsp canola oil
1/4 tsp freshly ground white and green peppercorns (optional)

Thai Basil Stirfry Prep

Directions

1. In a large skillet (I prefer cast-iron), heat the canola oil and sesame seed oil over high heat.
2. When hot, add garlic and ground pepper and saute for about 30 seconds.
3. Add carrots and tofu or meat substitute and saute for another minute.
4. Add scallions, tomato, mushrooms, peas, and glass noodles and saute for about a minute.
5. Add soy sauce, chili paste, and vegetable broth. Cook, stirring, for another 3-4 minutes, until the vegetables are just cooked.
6. Toss in Thai basil leaves at the end, and squeeze juice from half of a lime over the stirfry.
7. Serve immediately.

